FRIHOST • FORUMS • SEARCH • FAQ • TOS • BLOGS • COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

Sophie's World

tjatssa
Has anybody read this novel?
It's by Jostein Gaarder.
It's suppose to be a fiction book but
it tells you a lot about philosophy as well.
I decided to grab this book after realizing how
I have no knowledge about philosophy and
ppl like Socrates, Democritius, Plato and such.
This book is great for those who are interested in philosophy
or even for those who wants to know basics about them.
Though it's a novel, I personally think
this book makes you think a lot and it's very entertaining.
If anybody has time, try out the book and let me know. Thnx!
mirzapirza
My sister was given this as a summer assignment a few years ago. (I guess she was 16.) I ended up reading it during a long bus trip. I don't think what you're saying is right. It's supposed to be a textbook on philosophy, it's just hidden inside some fiction. Sophie has to learn a lot about those philosophers to solve the weird back story.

I'd recommend it to anyone - it's a great read, very educational.
galih
i love this book couse its very entertaining and i recommended it are cool book for collection..
thanks..
Smile
memza
yeai read that book.. its good
johanfh
This book was my first introduction in philosophy. It's a good book, although it's sometimes difficult if you have never thought about your worldview. I think it is indeed a textbook for philosophy rather than a novell, but the story is philosophy in itself. If you just read the story and skip all the rest, you will start to think about the world you live in. And thats just what philosophy aims to do

Happy reading!
JohanFH
Ioana
it΄s more of a childrens book - has some basics in it, but simplifyes philosphy a bit too mutch. you get kind of a pseudo-knowledge from it...
johnisenglish