FRIHOST FORUMS SEARCH FAQ TOS BLOGS COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

Design Tips

loosu
Though im not a EXPERT in this , i can tell you a few features , that a design should have , for a better user experience .

1. Aesthetic Design is important .
2. Choose , Mostly , BLUE & White as the colors . Black for the font .
3. Choose , a FLUID layout , that better suits resoultions .
4. CSS over tables .
5. Horizontal Navigation .
6. Accesibility to PALM devices .

These will not only make your site pleasant , but also boost your SEO rankings .

Try them .

BooTCaT
http://bootcat.50webs.com
Marston
loosu wrote:
4. CSS over tables .
I've bolded the only one that will actually help with your SEO ranking... Confused
engeland
what's a SEO ranking? Confused
Tex_Arcana
loosu wrote:

Okay I'll give you this. No one will stay very long at an ugly web site. Also a big peeve of mine is too much moving/flashing stuff that goes on and on endlessly, and for the sake of what ever you hold dear make sure that the average person can read the text. Spending a little time checking spelling and grammer would be nice too (I admit this is my trouble).

loosu wrote:

Now how boring is this? Everyone let's make all our web site blue and white with black text. Sorry this just plain sucks and I get sooooo tired of seeing blue and white web sites. The basic rule of thumb here is to use harmonious colors making sure that your text and background contrast sharply (Light text on dark background or dark text on light background). This is to insure that color blind people can still read your site. This "hint" is the only thing I strongly disagree with.

loosu wrote:

Yes please do. Let's get away from "Best viewed at ????X????? resolution". Another thing that makes me have a low oppinion of a web master is if I have to use the bottom(horizonal) scroll bar on my browser. It's pretty easy to fix everything to work at a wide range of resolutions.

loosu wrote: