FRIHOST • FORUMS • SEARCH • FAQ • TOS • BLOGS • COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

Cron job

Solugon
I need to create a cron-job that would loop through a MySQL table, compare today's date with a date listed in that table, then copy the listing with a difference between dates of 3 weeks or less to another table. I have no CGI/Perl experience, though, and I really don't want to get into ANOTHER language when I'm working on HTML, C++, PHP, and CSS at the same time. Can anyone help me with this? (Oh, and I'll be needing two other cron-jobs after this one. Laughing)
Stubru Freak
Just use php + sql
Nyizsa
Stubru Freak wrote:
Just use php + sql

...and set up a cron job to run it.
Solugon
So a cron job can run a PHP page too? I didn't know that. *blinks*

So (taking into account I need this cronjob for a website not utilizing DirectAdmon), all I'd need to do is add the .php file I want to use as a job to the crontab file? Or, actually considering that the crontab already lists folders for daily, weekly, and monthly stuff, I'd just add the file into one of those and be done with it?
Nyizsa
No, you can't simply run a .php file. You need to parse it, of course. In Windows, you may use the php executable, but in Unix environment (where php is only a module) you may have to use a browser to parse it. Or, for better performance, use mysqladmin. You should have it installed.
Solugon
Uh...no, I don't have "mysqladmin". I have phpMyAdmin, but no mysqladmin. *scratches head in confusion*

Is there any way to parse a PHP file at a certain time without me having to do anything? And if it has to be done with this "mysqladmin" thing, where would I get it?
Nyizsa
I think it is installed with MySQL. At least this was the case on my system (Debian). Do you get an error message if you type mysqladmin in a console window?
Solugon