FRIHOST FORUMS SEARCH FAQ TOS BLOGS COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

Wants to start drawing - book tips?

beetlejuice
Hi!
I'm interested in learning to draw manga. I have seen several books on the subject and wonder if anybody on the forum has any suggestions as to a good beginner's book? I haven't really drawed anything before, I'm an absolute beginner.
/M
TonkPilz
well for starters before spending any money try the free how to's on the net like this pages

http://www.bakaneko.com/howto/

http://www.polykarbon.com/tutorials/

http://animeworld.com/howtodraw/index.html

or the How to Draw Anime web ring home page.

http://anime.darkpact.com/list.php

find the one u like and stick whit it before going to the next page some pages are more advanced than others and some ar for total rookis
Sizzle
beetlejuice wrote:
Hi!
I'm interested in learning to draw manga. I have seen several books on the subject and wonder if anybody on the forum has any suggestions as to a good beginner's book? I haven't really drawed anything before, I'm an absolute beginner.
/M

I've got a nice book for you. It's not manga, but it is a really cool way to learn how to draw comics.... Especially when it comes to how you pose the characters, what backgrounds to have (or not to have), what angles/distance to draw them from. It worked for me...

The book is called "Drawing the Marvel Way".

Sizzle
dragonflame
I would suggest tracing till you get the basics, then go off to develop your own style.

This is how I learned, and I bet if I showed you some of my drawings now, you wont be too disgusted Smile
Winterborne
www.howtodrawmanga.com