FRIHOST FORUMS SEARCH FAQ TOS BLOGS COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

Career: So confused..

Hobbit
I'm a junior in high school and I need to choose what I want to do for a living for the rest of my life.

Personally I love computers, everything from photoshop/animation, 3d software(just started), web design, (a bit of VB programming but I doubt I'll get very much into it). But I don't know what to choose or not even what are my choices? I've talked to my councelors and they don't know, and yes we have a very bad school system.

So I have a few questions, what exactly is a computer engineer? computer science? Or what would be the career for me, if I like photoshop, 3d software, web design, etc? I'm so confused hehe.

Any help would be greatly appreaciated.
Gieter
Computer science is really a science. It has a lot to do with mathematics, so if you want to do computer science you have to be able to cope with lots of mathematics. Wink Actually, that counts for regular programming too.

Webdesign is something very different from programming. What programming languages do you know?

I'm hoping to help you out with this. Smile
eckbert
HI,

I just started an apprenticeship as IT-System-Electronic (how we call it in germany). I don't know how it is called in your country, but it's a very cool job.
You do lots of things like:
- installing and configuring networks
- customer service
- planning and realizing new concepts
- installing internet and telephone connections
- configuring desktop systems...

If you like to do an apprenticeship at all, you might concern this job to for your decision.

But if you are really interested in graphic design and programming, and if your parents have the money Wink you might go studiing informatics or graphic design...

so far, hope I helped you!

Joe
Hobbit
Thanks for the help. Well we don't have a lot of money but I'm signing up for scholarships, and there is always the dreaded loans I could get.