FRIHOST FORUMS SEARCH FAQ TOS BLOGS COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

Learning: Java Programming

mkultra
I'm currently a vb / asp developer but outside of microsoft products i'm a bit light on in experience.

My work year looks like featuring a big push in web services which would require me to get siginificantly better in java programming.

Does anyone know of any good Java tutorial sites are any books worth getting my hands on.

Your help is much appreciated.

mkultra
ocalhoun
I learned Java in about three days by checking a book out from the library. Of course, I was already familiar with C++, so I had an advantage. I still, however, suggest this approach. Just read the book cover to cover, and refer back to it when you get stuck, and you'll learn in no time.
thiamshui
mkultra wrote:
Does anyone know of any good Java tutorial sites are any books worth getting my hands on.

Sun Microsystems' site itself does contain some good tutorials.. take a look here: http://java.sun.com/developer/onlineTraining/new2java/

quite a good tutorial for a start.. of course, alternatively, u can borrow a book from the library.. i would recommend 'visual' books though with more screenshots and pics.. u can realli learn betta.. all the best in learning Java anyway! Very Happy
yisou
java is good
scharfkun
Learning Java is indeed good. One of the basic books for beginner in my opinion is Java Programming for the Absolute Beginner. Bu anyways the b est way of learning is to practise, and also lots of helpful information can be found on the forum of www.sun.com. Good luck
teh_razz
Java is a pretty good language to learn, there are lots of cool things you can do with it Cool
Kris1972
teh_razz wrote:
Java is a pretty good language to learn, there are lots of cool things you can do with it Cool