You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

helloo ive been playing guitar for almost two years, and id just like some advice/help/tips on writing songs on guitar... (i know this isnt the most specific forum in the world to post thisat, but i can use all the advice i can get)

i play rock.

I play guitar too but you dont need any advice to writ a song you just need to write words from your hart and play with the guitar to find the muisic that you want!

Good Luck!
Pretty much agree with ggreiner9. No real need to learn anything - play and progress by trial and error. Still, music theory can be helpful if nothing else then to add some inspiration by broadening your vocabulary and informing you on the choices you have to make a certain effect. But the most important thing is to listen to others - listen to what you like, and constantly broaden your tastes.

To me, it works like learning to speak a foreign language - you can learn it by studying grammar and listening to others, or you can learn it by listening to others exclusively, but you can't learn it by reading a grammar book and not listening.

If you do decide on doing some music theory, everything helps - from harmony over counterpoint to arrangement etc. I write music in anything from electronica and rock over jazz to orchestral ("classical") music - and the music theory is helpful in all of it, not least rock - Prokofiev can be very helpful when writing a rock ballad Wink

I don't play guitar, by the way, but piano and saxophone.

Oh yes, another thing... A dictaphone or similar is a good investment when you come up with a great melodic phrase out of nowhere - no matter how deranged you may look to other people when you're humming (or worse, singing) into it in the supermarket. Smile
U knead 2 lern 2 spel sew U kan reed the werds U rote.
helloo ive
Chord progressions are allways handy to give you a basis to work off and not hard to learn if you can play some chords.