FRIHOST FORUMS SEARCH FAQ TOS BLOGS COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

my dell laptop overheats with linux SUSE

ammonkc
I just installed SUSE linux 10 on my dell inspiron 8500. everything seems to be fine except it keeps overheating and turning off suddenly. It will beep loud 3 times, give me a message that says that the computer has reached critical heat, then it just turns off.
I am pretty new to linux. I mostly use osx but I'm trying to learn linux so that I can administer some servers better at work. I'm guessing that this is an issue of not having the right drivers installed for the mother board to monitor the heat and regulate the heatsinks properly. can anyone help me out with this? I'm stuck. like I said, I'm new to linux, so I don't know where to get the right drivers or anything like that for my laptop.

here are my notebook's specs:
Dell Inspiron 8500
P4m 2.4ghz
2gigs of sdram ddr2

I'm sure there are some linux guru's on this forum. please help.
thanks in advanced
kiranaghor
Do u use any other OS on the same laptop (like WinXP)? If that works okay and only linux has problems then u should contact your Dell support enginner and they may suggest u which drivers to load or which distro works best on that laptop. Try UBUNTU linux. It can be installed on apple mac too.
ammonkc
I'm not running anything else on this computer right now, just SUSE. but it was running win xp fine a few weeks ago before I formatted it for Linux. I'm thinking that it has to be a driver issue or maybe a firmware issue.
ocalhoun
Do not install UBUNTU! -It is one of the worst linux distros ever.
Do make sure you have the right kernel installed (contact dell or SuSE support or both).
Make sure it's not a hardware problem as well.
Feel free to try other distros, just stay away from ubuntu.
munky1