FRIHOST FORUMS SEARCH FAQ TOS BLOGS COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

Mature Students?

DawningLight
Just wondering how many mature students there are out there if any.
If it's you, what made you go back to education? What are you studying?
Does age make it harder or easier to both to return to the educational environment and to study?
Are you considering going back?

As a mature student myself I would be really interested to hear the views of others.
Nyizsa
I made my BSc at the age of 27. It's not a lot, but this year (I'm 29) I want to start an MSc. I don't think age really matters. Everything depends on the community, and your interests.
hahame
i still young,but i thing they come back to scool just for making the time pass so slow,
Kris1972
I got a BSc in Molecular Pathology and Human Genetics at 29 years old. I am currently not working in that field and at 34 am preparing for the SCJP and SCJD java exams. IMHO, mature students have an avantage over the average younger person because they tend look at the study and its associated costs as being an investment in a career. From my exp of younger students they tend to look at University as a social event rather than a place of learning. Please keep in mind that this is just my 2 cents worth.
Bazza_Ballistic
I too am a mature age student. I'm currently doing honours in linguistics at age 28. I spent 6 years full time in the work force before going back to study. I first studied marketing, which I saw as a career move, then went on to media as part of a BA. While doing that I discovered linguistics and fell in love. Ended up with a double major in media and linguistics.

Although I am still concsious of how I will earn off the back of my study I REALLY appreciate the skills I have learnt along the way. Critical thinking, a broad perspective and personal research skills will be of value to me in anything I do.