You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

Career Choice - Design Engineer?

I have to write a report and give an oral presentation on the career of my choice that I would seriously consider entering after high school in my honors composition class.

But I'm sort of stuck. I really want to design roller coasters for a living, because I love them so much. But that is too small of a subject to find any vaild information on, and design engineer is too big.

I finally decided that I could enter as a civil engineer and then go to roller coasters from there.

Does anyone have advice, resources, or anything that might assist me? Your consideration is appreciated.
Well, believe it or not, I'm a Civil Engineer. The very interesting thing about this topic is the vast number of diciplines the subject has. These include:

Water Engineering,
Structural Engineering,
Highway Design / Transport Strategies,
Geotechnical Engineering,
Project Management,
Environmental Engineering,

The list goes on.

What it would be best to do is to look at a few areas you're interested in and present on them. For example, the Millau Bridge in France was an amazing feat of Architecture and Engineering - why not make a presentation about that? There will be plenty of info available online.

Again, why not examine some Civil Engineering companies? Jacobs is one of the world's largest Engineering Consultancy companies. They recently bought Babtie - the UK's biggest Engineering Consultancy, extending their reach into Europe. There is a load of information on the Jacobs and Jacobs Babtie websites including case studies of past projects.

I'm based in the UK just now, so I can only advise on the ones near me, but there are also several professional institutions such as ICE and IStructE where you'll be able to get a host of information.