FRIHOST FORUMS SEARCH FAQ TOS BLOGS COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

cooking shows

mrblah
My it's just me but I really like shows about cooking or food. Anybody have any favorites? I like Both Iron Chef shows, Good Eats and Ham on the Street.
bgillingham
The classics would have to include "Julia Child" PBS shows and "Great Chefs of the World" as well as Galloping Gormet (Graham Kerr).

Graham's more recent show focused on healthy food. I am not sure if this show is aired anymore.

Alton Brown's show "Good Eats" is in my opinion the best show - regardless of skill level. I have had many years experience working as an assistant Chef, yet I have learned much from Alton's show.

The classic Iron Chef series is a classic. The first run of Iron Chef America used William Shatner, didn't it? I am glad that Alton Brown is a part of the show. Being a vegetarian, I sometimes have to change the channel when the them ingredient includes any foods that they have to kill.
mrblah
I didn't know that there was another Iron Chef America Series. William Shatner as the chairman had to be really weird. I was the American version would use stranger ingredients. The origianl would use stuff that I would never eat in a million years but somehow those episodes seemed more entertaining.
ylmun
Good Eats Rocks!!!! Alton's recipes work great and I'm in no ways a professional chef. Emiril's recipes, on the other hand, well, let's just say they need some improvement.

I remember the first Iron Chef America. It was on channel 9 here in New York, I believe when it wasn't UPN yet.

William Shatner was the chairman and they filmed it in Las Vegas or something like that because it had a carnival atmosphere. I think they had 3 iron chefs, Todd English, Kerry Simon and Roy Yamaguchi, I believe. Curiously, Todd English and Kerry Simon were both challengers on the new Iron Chef America.