FRIHOST FORUMS SEARCH FAQ TOS BLOGS COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

Blue screen before windows login.

Talk2Tom11
Hey... I am getting this blue screen on my computer before it ever gets to the login screen for windows. I am running XP. IUt doesn;t give me and specific information like, Bad boot file or something like that. The Error code at the bottom is: 0x0000007B.

I it tells me to try running the CHKDSK. I ran that throught the windows recovery console. I ran CHKDSK /p and CHKDSK /r. One of them... i believe it was the /r, told me it found errors and fixed them. But I am still having the same problem. if anyone can help me out with this situation that would be great thanx.

P.S.
I am a yearbook editor for a college and alot of the layout is on there... So if at all possible i would prefer not to format. Thanx.
gh0stface
You might want to check to see if all your cables are firmly connected. Other then that, I'm not sure what else. :/
Talk2Tom11
OK soo this is a problem that can be caused by not having everything connected tightly? Because the computer was working fine and then it was shut down one day... it just started up with this problem.

Will check the cables though. Thanks
johanfh
Maybe if there is important info on your system it's safer to first boot your pc with a floppy disk to DOS and look with an NTFS reader for dos (for example the one from www.ntfs.com) if your important files are still there. Copy them on a floppy disk or if they are to big put another hard-drive in your pc and copy them on that one, just to make sure you don't loose your data.