FRIHOST FORUMS SEARCH FAQ TOS BLOGS COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

New Domain Name hosting with FriHost

710ths
Hi,
I've recently bought a domain name: buytoletinfo.com and would like this to be hosted at Frihost.

I've added the domain within directadmin and added the frihost server names to the domain register.

I presume I need to add DNS numbers, but how do I do this. Sorry if this question seems a little simple. I'm just a novice that needs some idiot guide to get this set up.

Thanks in anticipation of anyones help.
Loathing in Fear
DNS = NS (Nameserver)
It's the same, the DirectAdmin nameservers are: ns1.frih.net
and ns2.frih.net
To add them, just go to your registrar, log in and look for something called: "DNS Management" or something like that, change the nameservers, and wait a few minutes - hours.
WebSiteGuru
When you added ns1 and ns2 to your domain registrar, it can take up to 2 to 3 days depending on if your domain registrar will run the updates to DNS right away or not.
Bondings
You need to change the nameservers to ns1.frih.net and ns2.frih.net . They are currently pointing to our first server frihost.net. Afterwards just add the domain to your account.
schumway
similar question... and maybe not our issue here...

I bought a domain at Domainsatcost.ca
sask-blackangus.ca is the domain.

I logged in as admin and went to the DNS page.

I did do domain forwarding from the one I bought to the one frihost provided... (hoping that would be a quick fix until the DNS stuff was resolved) AND I ALSO added the DNS informtion for ns1 and ns2 with the IPs of x.x.x.170 and 171 respectively.

The temp 'under construction page' was toasted within 24hrs so I figured that they must be forwarding the DNS things to Frihost now... but... how do I link the domain name to my frihost site?

I would assume the DNS is now looking to frihost DNS servers for a website of sask-blackangus.ca but how does frihost know where my pages are?