FRIHOST FORUMS SEARCH FAQ TOS BLOGS COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

How to get a Power Macintosh online ?

izcool
Hey everyone,

I've been a PC person for several years now, and last night I went out to my local Salvation Army and picked up my first ever Apple Power Macintosh computer, a 7200/75 (check out this page for what I have - http://www.everymac.com/systems/apple/powermac/stats/powermac_7200_75.html). It has a LAN connector in the back of it, and it runs with Mac OS 8.1, but I don't know how to get it online. As far as I know, there's no browser software on it, and I am very new at the Macintosh OS interface and how it operates.

It was sorta cheap ($25 with the keyboard and mouse) and I'm not quite ready to get anything newer than that unless it was cheaper. I have an adapter to work with a PC-based monitor, and I'm able to interact with the OS and such just fine, like as if I were using an Apple monitor.

Can anyone direct to me to a good webpage/tutorial that tells me how to get that machine on a LAN network to get high-speed internet ? Thanks so much.

EDIT :
Don't know if this will help much, but this is what the desktop looks like (I'm pretty sure it's OS 8.1) on the machine. Took me awhile to figure out how to convert it to PC format, but it wasn't that hard. Razz

- Mike.
xl64
If you haven't found help yet...
Can you tell us about your LAN?
If you have a router, you simply have too go to the Apple menu, then down to the "Tableau de Bord" don't remenber in english :S
TCP/IP
then you set it too DHCP
it should work like that...
if not go to the "Tableau de Bord" Appletalk and verify it doesn't uses Ethernet ...
If it still doesn't work plz give us details
Kd527