FRIHOST • FORUMS • SEARCH • FAQ • TOS • BLOGS • COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

How to write a code which will keep bandwidth to a minimum?

Kashinilaya
I posted a few days ago in the Designing Tips forum a question on how to lower bandwidth for a site that includes lots of text. I only got one reply which didn't really answered my question. So I decided to post in the Scripting forum a diferent question (it seemed to me the best place for that).

I only want to write my page once. I won't have time to improve it, so I want to start it right. Bandwidth is an important issue no matter where we decide to host our page in and I can't figure out how many people will visit my site.

My site is for showing my written work (I'm a writer). So, it's going to have many small pieces of text (like 200k to 500k bytes in length, each)

I read somewhere else in Frihost that PHP lowers bandwidth. Is that true? (sounds odd to me, for PHP is supposed to run in the server computer, i.e. the webhost computer) If yes, how to accomplish that?

I have no experience at all writting internet pages, but I do have experience in computer programming. I don't have the time to learn all that is available. I think that PHP + CSS would be the best option. Can you help me with your opinion?
LukeakaDanish
Well to be honest its difficult giving you a "fulfilling" answer...

It might be easier if you had an example of what "exactly" you want.

When you say php+css, i hope you meant html+php+css, as php is pretty useless without html...otherwise, this is a good idea...though javascript is always good...

Using php wont really decrease filesizes (as far as i know), unless you want to write the content dynamically, in which case its posible it will outscore javascript...that depends on the situation.