FRIHOST FORUMS SEARCH FAQ TOS BLOGS COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

3D programmes

elragal_30
3D programmes
what your 3D graphic programme you use ?
are you use 3d studio max
or MAYA
ocalhoun
Bryce 5
silliman
I have Maya installed, but it's "heavy industrial strength." The learning curve is very very steep.

Since I'm a novice, I like tinkering with Poser 6.

Any Poser users in the room?
Shirish
though i have 3ds max

i prefer using blender

it's great man

also Lightwave is a good try

maya is too omemory hogger

on the whole, just give a try to blender and you will not ask that question again
mike1reynolds
Though I haven't tried Maya, I am somewhat familiar with XSI 4.2 and I like much better than 3D Studio Max. XSI is MUCH faster, 3D Studio Max bogs my machine down so much that as I'm moving the wireframe of a complex mesh around it takes more than a second to redraw, so first I'll move the object too far to the left, then too far to the right, etc...

One of my favorite effects is transparency, making beveled glass letters for example. I just couldn't figure out how to do it in 3D Studio Max. I've read web reviews of the 3 products and people generally agree that with release 4.2 XSI has leap-frogged past both Maya and 3D Studio Max. XSI also has a step learning curve, like all three of the programs. The tough thing about XSI is that the view manipulation is controlled by keyboard keys and it is not well documented. For example, to rotate the screen view, you must hit the 'o' button, to pan you hit the 'z' button, and to zoom in or out you hit the 'z' button (the logic behind those key choices is beyond me). But once you get the hang of it, XSI is much smoother and easier to use than 3D Studio Max.
Timonator
I have 3d studion max 6 laying somewhere dont really know where exactly Laughing
root
I know 3DS Max better than anything else, but I know a little Maya.. I want to learn Houdini =)
ShattaAD