FRIHOST FORUMS SEARCH FAQ TOS BLOGS COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

Are you a network engineer?

NuniPio
i was thinking of studying network engineering, but wanted to know if the career is the right one for me, so if you're a network engineer, can you please let me know a bit about what you really do..thanks
Daniel15
I'm not a network engineer, but I'm CCNA qualified Very Happy

What would you like to do in networking? Cable installation? Computer Configuration? Router programming/setup? Or something else?
albusa
i think is good
albusa
actually i want to study it
narc
I'm a computer engineer, which is really close to a network engineer.

In oregon, the differenc is about 5 classes. All engineering is pretty close to the same, then the major fields of electrical, computer, network are even more similar. Mechanical, structural, and civil are very similar as well, but not to electrical, computer and network.

Any way, when you toss the word "engineer" out there, you are really referring to design. Things are engineered to meet specifications, and a well educated engineer knows how to make things robust enough to do what they are intended to do.

With that said, a network engineer has a deep understanding of load, speed, balancing, traffic patterns, redundancy and the like, and is able to use those concepts to design a network infrastructure that can live up to the design specs.

Design specs are frequently not as well defined as they should be, because frankly it takes an engineer to write correct design specs. So another part of being an engineer is taking poorly designed plans, making them well designed plans, then taking the plans to completion.

Want to know more? I can ramble for hours Smile
narc
daniel15 wrote:
I'm not a network engineer, but I'm CCNA qualified Very Happy

What would you like to do in networking? Cable installation? Computer Configuration? Router programming/setup? Or something else?