You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

Tips for how to work out

I am currently doing my Bachelot of Sports and can assist people if they want any tips on how to train for different puproses.

I have been training martial arts for 14 years, and I have been a Tae Kwon-Do instructor for 11 years. I also do a lot of cardio and resistance(weight) training. I am specializing in the fitness industry now, and will become a personal trainer/fitness instructor when I finnish my degree. So if you need any tips on how to train, what to eat or other things related to training, I can give some pointers.
Just here to help.Very Happy

Just remember that all people are different, so the information I supply are guidelines. For a full out training program you should talk to a PT or some other kind of instructors....Smile

How would one train for a really long walk.. Like a cross country trek?
Well, it depends a bit on what kind of treking it would be. Are we talking about a long day trip, or devral days with big backpack?
And how much time do you have to train before you go on the trip?

In general, I would say that you need to start off with a great deal of varied cardiovascular trainig. (cycling, running, rowing, walking etc.)
Every training session should be minimum 30 minutes, but preferable approx 60 min. Depending on how fit you are, you should train from 2-4 times per week. The more fit, the more times per week.

Then as your fitnesslevel builds up, you should start walking long distances. Start of with maybe 2-3 hours walks, and then increase in time as you feel more fit. And you might even consider using a backpack that has some weight to it.(if that is relevant for your treking plans) Very Happy

And remeber to eat/drink a lot of carbohydrates, as this gives energy to the muscles so you can keep going for a period of time.

Hope this helps. Very Happy

How might I go about training for cycle racing?

My season will include:
1hr - 4hr races