FRIHOST FORUMS SEARCH FAQ TOS BLOGS COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

Explain and get up to 30FRIH!

DecayClan
Here it comes:I am a noob as for databases and stuff like that, so i would like someone to eplain the whole system to me.With simple words, and as detailed as possible.What i want to learn?For example, you enter a webpage, were you can register.The regestration info and everything, is automatically saved somewhere(how?).And then depending on if someone has already logged in or not, they get specific privilages...How exactly does this system work?Can i create(or find in the internet a ready one) that could work for me in this way, and how?
If i find your answer aquantake you get 20Frih
If i find your answer SUPER you get 25Frih
If your answer is super and what you said worked or me after all, you get 30FRIH
wumingsden
For what kind of database, mySQL?
Nyizsa
1. You need a server-side scripting language like PHP. This is a programming language just like any other. The difference is that it will be executed on the server.
2. You need a database on the server, which you will store the members' data in.
3. On the registration page the user fills the details in, then submits the form. (= sends the data he just entered to the server.)
4. PHP (or the chosen language) verifies the data, encrypts the password and puts it into the database. (This happens on the server.)
5. On the login page the user enters the username and password. These are sent to the server. Then PHP verifies if they match any entry from the database. If yes, it sets a session cookie. (Think of it as a simple variable which exists on both the server and at the client.)
6. The main page first of all checks the presence of this session cookie. If it is OK, it may show restricted content, allow users to edit, etc. If it is not set, it may display a message "You must be logged in to view this page!" or display data read-only, etc.