FRIHOST FORUMS SEARCH FAQ TOS BLOGS COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

Downtime Notification

SoftStag
I have been using Frihost for about 3 months and have been very happy with it. Recently, however, there has been some downtime. I understand that problems happen etc. and I'm not complaining. However, I would like to be informed when there is a problem, not find out about it a few days later when I check the forums, or someone emails a complaint to me.

My suggestion is that in the event of downtime, all affected users are emailed to be informed when it is identified, and again when it is resolved. This way we will have notification. Also, if we can be emailed of any planned downtime in advance this will help greatly.

I hope you take my suggestion seriously, and not as a complaint about uptime; which it is not.
BlackSkad
How would you like to know which users are on a server while it's down? Unless Bondings has a list at home with all users, he can email everyone. (Emailing manualy wouldn't be an option, so if both servers are down, the problem is even worse) And such a mass-email-action takes a lot of bandwith.

I recon it would be nice to be informed about a downtime, but what use does it have? You can't fix the server. You can't post a message on your site that the server is down, because no-one can see it. Emailing your visitors isn't an option either, as you don't know who's visiting your site (could be anyone). We - and our visitors - just have to live with it.

So, imho, I don't think this will ever happen... Sad

BlackSkad
SgtGarcia
It would be a nice feature, too bad you need some kind of backup server to make this ever work.
SoftStag
This is about being informed, not about having a backup service. If you have ever managed any project, then you will know that it is always best to be informed of issues as early as possible.