FRIHOST FORUMS SEARCH FAQ TOS BLOGS COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

Unregistered hardware

Vanquish
I sometimes get a problem where my computer crashes and I get the deadly blue screen stating that there is some unregistered hardware installed on my computer then restarts. I really don't know what this means as I am not very good with technical things on computers. It would be great if I could get some answers!
Thanks,
Vanquish
foggy
It would be very hard for us to diagnose the problem without any sort of further information. The best source of information would be the exact text of the blue screen itself. Next time it happens, take out a piece of paper and write down any information that seems pertinent, namely the exact name of the problem, and it also usually lists the driver that had caused it.

But before then, however, has anything recently changed on your computer, such as; new software, new hardware, etc.? Problems like this don't usually come out of the blue.
comp615
Also, when does this happen? Right when you turn your computer on? Or is there a trigger event of sometype?
Vanquish
I'm not sure of what hardware may have caused this, but it was round about when I bought my minidisc player and I installed sony's program to put music on my walkman, but I have deleted this now so it shouldn't be the problem. It usualy happens randomly when my computer lags.
comp615
Any more info on exactly what the blue screen says?
corey
This sounds like something that I had trouble with before. It drove me nuts. Twice, it occurred, actually. The first time, it was a corrupted video driver (the one that Windows installed). The second time, though, it was a bad stick of RAM. Try downloading memtest86 and run it to see if your ram is producing errors.
Animal