FRIHOST FORUMS SEARCH FAQ TOS BLOGS COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

Open Office

brewmaster
Having just downloaded this, I cannot understand why more people do not use it? Its free, and seems very capable? It works well with standard office products as far as I can see? Am I missing something?
S3nd K3ys
brewmaster wrote:
Am I missing something?

Yes. Advertising.

The only thing I don't like is that I've got a bunch of MS Access databases with lots of VBA code that I can't convert, so I'm stuck keeping MS on my comp to use them.
bogden
yes, open office is new on the scene compared to MSOffice, and has no advertising budget that I know of. but i've been using it for a few months and it needs a few key improvements before it should try to go public/popular. most importantly, _speed_. it takes 4x as long to launch compared to MSOffice. other then that, it is just little interface quirks that annoy me. overall i find it very usable and have started recommending it to my friends.
Tilly
I think that's the hardest part for me. The speed to get things done in Open Office is still an issue. But I don't use MS Office either...in fact, mostly I just use wordpad. ^_^;
dac_nip
i think open office is a very versatile, useful and flexible software compared to other office. although the speed is an issue but with the new open office 2.0 it has gone to a lot of improvements..sooner or later, it will gain popularity. Very Happy
Helios
Open Office is just great!

I use Linux. So no MS Office for me anyway.

Well, it's free and it's better than KEdit lol
FriBogdan
I think that the open source programs will be better than old commercial codes. The thing is that at an open source every person can contribute and make it better so... I use open office to Smile
garvalf4