FRIHOST FORUMS SEARCH FAQ TOS BLOGS COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

FTP accounts?

Jack Salem
Hi. I'm Jack Salem

I had already posted this whole scenario once before my computer decided it wanted to restart without warning. Almost as if it KNEW I had something important to type and it just wanted to piss me off for using so many system resources at once (my computer SERIOUSLY needs better ram) - but that's a story for another time. Right now, here's my delima -

I'm a music composer. Generally, what I do to get feedback, I go to some of my favorite forums and post some of my recent compositions. I was a little iffy about FriHost, having to go out of my way to do something just for a service that I really don't know is reliable, or fast, or anything. Out of experience, I know if someone had to download 4-5mb worth of mp3 at a pace of 5kb per second (thank you geoshitties) people will not download and critique. Then I realized "Hey, this might be the perfect environment. I do have a lot of questions anyway so if I don't find what I'm looking for, at least I'll get a lot of questions answered". In the past I used a friend's FTP account. The two of us were collaborating on a C++ game. The game's production never really left the ground and eventually the project was discontinued. Eventually, the FTP account I used depleted out of existance. That brings me here.

I don't have much web master experience. I plan on creating/promoting my own website at some point but before I could do that, I need to understand something. The FTP program I use is called FTP Explorer (cheap, I know). In the past, the person that gave me the space just gave me a gif file whith the values filled in and I just copy them. I don't have that anymore so what I need is a simple overview of what the values mean:

Here they are:

Profile Name
Host Address
Login
Password