FRIHOST FORUMS SEARCH FAQ TOS BLOGS COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

Advertising and Grafiti: Why one but not the other?

piecesoftrees
I've always been intrigued with something...

As someone who's in advertising, I feel pretty strongly for it. However if there's one thing about it I disagree with is why must we face large billboards everywhere we look? Were we asked for this? I don't believe we were. What gives these companies the right to do this?

What gets to me even more about it is they consider grafiti wrong. They call it vandalism. I'm not a grafiti artist myself, but I admire what the talented ones do, and isn't the real vandalism the images the advertising we see everyday, more than likely against our sub-consious will, technically 'vandalising' our minds? Why should we have to stare at large billboards and not have to stare at genuine art on the walls?

I find it an interesting debate. Any opinions?

Steve.
Nameless
What makes billboards any worse ads than, say, TV ads, radio ads or football-players-wearing-fast-food-logos-or-certain-shoes-for-cash ads?

Also, 9/10 graphiti is an eye-sore, just a stupid logo that you can't read anyway. It's illagel, for damn good reasons. Andyou know why they call it vandalism? BECAUSE IT IS! If somebody came and scrawled 'I waz hear 2005' on your house in black paint, you'd either be pretty pissed off, or pretty stupid. Or both.

Of course, I hate advertising too, but when you're driving down the road you should be looking AT THE ROAD and not at the billboards. Gees.

[/rant]
George