FRIHOST FORUMS SEARCH FAQ TOS BLOGS COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

need some advice on designing my site

barrie
the url is www.barrie.frih.net .
right now my site design is pretty plain, so i would like to improve it. I'm not very experienced at designing webpages, before i was into programming in c and cryptography.

Any advice is welcome, but i don't want the design to be overcomplicated, i just want a simple design that is at the same time nice to look at and user-friendly.
CrimsonStrange
Y'know... sometimes plain & simple makes the boldest statement. Wink

If your site is primarily intended to instruct the visitor; if you're introducing a lot of information to your readers, then it's actually [u]better[/b] to help your visitors concentrate more on the content of your site, rather than the style of your site.

A lot of images or flashy color & design schemes would distract your potential viewers.

I think it's pretty slick just the way it is, barrie.
Arcath
A banner would look good, but as CrimsonStrange Siad to much cn distract ppl
VIPER VENOM
i have only made and helped with a few website and templates but most of my ideas come from looking at other sites like what i am producing. and sometimes you can roght click on the main page and click view source and see how things are wrote and what codes they used to do what. i dont know if this is legal or a good ieda. but is what i usually do anyways.
eday2010
Adding a background colour might make it look nicer. Nothing superbold, like red or blue, but something subtle would work. Very pale green or orange or blue, so that it's still mostly white, but it has a hint of colour in it. Maybe even a gradient from left-to-right from a pale colour to white would be nice too.
e-core
Perhaps you could try adding some images, you could try finding some free photos at imagestock. But beware of using images that are not free for use.
ocalhoun