FRIHOST FORUMS SEARCH FAQ TOS BLOGS COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

Anyone else have bad experiences with wordpress performance?

andy26
Okay so wordpress seemed great when people used it for blogs and comics, but then it rapidly became a bloated CMS with thousands of plugins. At one point nearly every website i was hired to carry out SEO was built on a wordpress CMS but the sites were all sluggish with horrible front page speed times and the back end almost unusably slow.

I had to install custom plugins for the most part just tweak the most basic of SEO settings.

But then i worked as an in house SEO and website maintenance, we was using fasthosts which has to be the most contract scamming hosts around! I managed to come up with a deal to leave. I then went on to find a decent dedicated server at namecheap.com we had 2 magento stores and 2 HTML websites everything was running smoothly my boss then purchased a competitors website built in wordpress i loaded the site correctly into the dedicated server and the site literally hammered the dedicated server in CPU usage. I had to offset the load by installing some very hardcore cache and lite code plugins and i had to further offset the load by installing cloudflare.

Has anyone else noticed very poor performance with wordpress or was i just constantly running into sites that previously had the worst website designers that would hack together as many plugins and code as they could understand?
loveandormoney
Yes
and so we kicked Wordpress out.
There is better and free software.
deanhills
andy26 wrote:
Has anyone else noticed very poor performance with wordpress or was i just constantly running into sites that previously had the worst website designers that would hack together as many plugins and code as they could understand?