You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

Career Guidance.

So i just joined today, and have made a few posts to get some hosting (how long will that take, btw?), but now I'd like to ask for some advice. I know i don't know you guys, but I have a predicament.

Here goes.

I finished university, got a 2:1 in Philosophy, which I enjoyed. Unfortunately I don't have good enough A level results to carry on with my peers into a graduate training scheme or a law placement, both of which I want to do (I got BBC at A level, which is not at all bad, but I should have done better and it is hindering me in the sorts of jobs I want to get).

What I really want to do is to start and run my own business, but because I don't know what I want to do, and I can't financially afford to take any risks, and I have no experience, I need to find a career....

I am thinking I should try and find a job which will give me all the necessary skills to run my own business when I have the money and the idea to do so. Does anyone have any suggestions?

I know this probably all sounds a bit hollow - there are many people who did much worse at school, or didn't go to university etc and who am I to think I have problems. Anyway, that is where I am, and I just wondered if any one who doesn't know me and has maybe a different/fresh perspective would make a suggestion....

I am interested in keeping fit, surfing, snowboarding, philosophy, travelling, designing and making things, business, management and law.

thanks guys Smile
what about accountancy? with your grades you can easily qualify for an interview i think. although the job may be boring, it gives you alot of insight into the financial world and additionally you'll get a financial qualification in the form of ACA/ACCA which gives you really good grounding in matters pertaining taxation, accounting, and how businesses run in general.