FRIHOST FORUMS SEARCH FAQ TOS BLOGS COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

Using mail() func on Frihost

Naif
I am kind of new to PHP programming. The only thing I am comfortable is with its syntax. I have written a feedback script which accepts a Name, Email Address, Website and a Message from a form. The variables names are msgName, msgEA, msgWebsite, mMessage. The php code is as follows

Code:

<?php
if( mail("prince_of_nights@hotmail.com", "SRK Fansite", $_POST['msgEA'] + $_POST['msgWebsite'] + $_POST['mMessage']) == true) {
   echo "Your feedback has been sent! Thank you";
}
else {
   echo "There seems to be a problem with the mail server. Your feedback was not sent at this time. Please try again later. We apologise for the inconvenience";
}

?>

The form gets submitted and the mail function returns true and therefore the message "Your feedback has..." is being displayed, yet.... yup, here is the yet... yet I am getting no mail. My email address is correct, I have checked the syntax of mail(), that too is correct. Do I have to initialise particular variables to use FRIhost's SMTP daemon, if so, what are the variables and how would I go about initialising them?

By the way, I have already tried using the forum's search function to see if whether this question was posted earlier but it was of no help so thats why I decided to start a new thread.
thnn
Try this it should work. I would use periods not addition signs to join strings.

Code:
<?php
if( mail("prince_of_nights@hotmail.com", "SRK Fansite",

$_POST['msgEA'].$_POST['msgWebsite'].$_POST['mMessage']) == true) {
   echo "Your feedback has been sent! Thank you";
}
else {
   echo "There seems to be a problem with the mail server. Your feedback was not sent at

this time. Please try again later. We apologise for the inconvenience";
}

?>

It worked on my PHP installation with mercury, but it could also be the Frihost mail server software.
Naif