FRIHOST FORUMS SEARCH FAQ TOS BLOGS COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

Where to start with my first website

SpaceInvader75
I've never built a website before. I've used some html tags, but just very basic things. I really want to build a website for my new business. I know I could probably pay somebody to do the basic site that I need, but I want to learn anyway.

I've taken some programming courses in the past, but it's been a long time, so the only thing that might help me with is basic programming structure.

I was going to use Joomla, but after playing around with that some, it was still rather intimidating. If I could just get something started maybe I can go from there, but I'm really not even sure what the first step is?
RosenCruz
How about starting with an easy to use thing like WordPress ?
deanhills
Great idea Rosen. Also, there are some great tutorials online SpaceInvader - this tutorial in particular will take you through all of the steps of building a WordPress Website as it is designed for people who do WP Websites for the first time:

dude_xyx
You can start with WordPress. I think it's your best option. The Video deanhills has posted is really good and you can find more from Youtube. There are good free business type WordPress theme which you can use. Anyway you will need to learn basics of HTML, php and many other things along the way.
RosenCruz
The good thing with WP is, you can act like a novice, beginner, advanced or professional. As you grow, Wp has so many tools, plugins and themes to catch you Wink
deanhills
RosenCruz wrote:
The good thing with WP is, you can act like a novice, beginner, advanced or professional. As you grow, Wp has so many tools, plugins and themes to catch you Wink
Agreed. Like there is a stage when one wants to change things in Word Press and then one can get into modifying the code. Into the technical side of things. It's good both for beginners and those who are advanced.