FRIHOST FORUMS SEARCH FAQ TOS BLOGS COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

How to setup a domain? Not a subdomain with frih?(Resolved)

shabda
I have bought a domain name. I dont have it now but will have it by tomorrow. How do I set it up with frihost? The domain will most probably be
shabda.name. I will need a really detailed explanation as I am completely new to this.
Thanks.
Sunny
When you get your domain you should also get a link to Domain Control Panel or DNS Control Panel. If you don't then you will have to check Domain registrant website or look in its faq's or ask them for it.

Once you login to Domain Control Panel, You are looking for option DNS Setting or DNS Configuration or NameServer etc. Click it, you will see multiple boxes to add name servers. In fst(Primary) add ns1.frihost.net, second(Secondary) add ns2.frihost.net. If you have more options, just leave them blank.

Then next step is to add the domain to your webhosting Panel. Looking at your date of joining I suspect you are hosted on Direct Admin Control Panel. Click Domain Setup>>Add another Domain>>Give your domain and click create.Leave the bandwidth and space options as "same as main account"
Daniel15
If you are on DirectAdmin, then the nameservers are ns1.frih.net and ns2.frih.net instead of .frihost.net.

Also, please read the sticky in the future: http://frihost.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=13111
shabda
Thanks a lot guys for your help. You rock as always. BTW, the domain is shabda.name. Ill soon host it with fri host, making a request now. Just 1 more question, is it true that it takes about 24-72 hours before my website will be visible, if I change my nameserbver.
waiteck
It depends how lucky you are. Meaning if you update or change it, you might miss the update. So you gotta wait, otherwise like my case, my domain almost immediately went into effect.
mustaq