FRIHOST • FORUMS • SEARCH • FAQ • TOS • BLOGS • COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

Homebrewing, & bottle size/type decision making

coolclay
Not sure if there are any other homebrewers hanging out here on Frihost but, I've been brewing for about 6 years now. I don't drink much but have probably a 100 gallons of beer/wine under my belt.

Most recently I've been trying to decide the most environmentally method of bottling. I have 15 or so 22 oz fliptop bottles that I like to use because they are completely reusable vs. typical bottle cap bottles which I have to purchase and throw away the bottle caps.

The only problem is when I brew higher gravity beers like the one I am drinking now, I call Bloody Brit Bitter (6.5 abv) by the time I drink an entire 22 oz I am feeling pretty swell. Now I might be a light weight (in my opinion a good thing) but I'd rather not feel inebriated if I can help it.

SO therein lies my conundrum do I use typical 12 oz capped bottles and just suck it up or do I just down a 22 ouncer and deal with the consequences. I mean there are worse problems to have I know.
jajarvin
I had difficulties in reading this post Wink

What is oz and gallon?

This link help me with the conversion from oz ->l iters and gallon - liters http://www.convertunits.com/from/gallon/to/liters

The term abv seems to be Alcohol by volume http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Alcohol_by_volume

And of course: 22 ouncer?

It seems to be 22 items which each weights 437.5 grains 1/16 pound (28.35 grams) http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/ounce
coolclay
These are mostly units. Here in the US we still use the archaic imperial system of measurement for volume known as the fluid ounce or fl. oz for short. One ounce is a 1/16th of a pound, and one fluid ounce is the volume that 1 ounce of water in air occupies at 62 degrees Fahrenheit.

SO a 22 "ouncer" is a larger beer bottle whereas a 12 oz bottle is the normal beer bottle size.