FRIHOST FORUMS SEARCH FAQ TOS BLOGS COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

HELP, i am new in this

jamesbond25
hey people,

My name is james and i am a student in economics. I am a french speaking person, so in advance i apologize if my english is poor but i will do my best. My group and I, have a task to do for class. We need to create a website by using joomla. But we don't know much about it. I just know that I need a webserver, then i need to transfer my joomla files into the server by using an FTP software like Filezilla. Then, I heard, Joomla is quite easy to use and to create and host the website. The problem i am facing is that i can't seem to find a free webserver. I can't buy a server as this is just for school. I read somewhere that this site is a free webserver which is Joomla friendly. Can someone explain how it works? I mean, if i want to host my Joomla website here?

I downloaded WAMP server in order to create a local server on my computer, what is your thoughts on that? Is it a good to do that, as we will still have to put the website online?

Thank you Smile
jamesbond25
No one?? Crying or Very sad Crying or Very sad
SonLight
James, I definitely think you should develop your site on your own computer, using WAMP or whatever server software you choose. It is probably not a good idea to publicly host your site from your own computer, because there are too many security issues. If the primary goal is to make information available to the public, you could use something like wordpress which is easy to get both hosting and site management for. I assume the primary goal is to demonstrate your ability to create a site. Hosting it on your own computer, and perhaps making it public for a limited period of time to demonstrate it, would accomplish that. You could use dyndns or a similar service to make it available on the internet by name, or simply have it addressable only by the ip address.
standready