FRIHOST FORUMS SEARCH FAQ TOS BLOGS COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

What documentation standards should be used?

boinsterman
What documentation standards should be used? As a mostly self-taught coder, I would not know what documentation is expected of me when I work for someone else.

I try to just put a few comments in my code and have clear variable names. If I am having a problem with a specific section, I put alerts or other text messages at various checkpoints.

Any sites out there that discuss this?
Marcuzzo
Some people love excessive documentation, others hate it, some believe that your code should be self explanatory, others believe that that's what documentation is for.

I'm a huge fan of WELL documented code AND intuitive code. ( especially for compiled languages as the compiler skips the documentation, for php... no idea if documentation has a performance impact )

your code should already be intuitive but still, how many times have you opened a piece of code in a text editor weeks, months, years after you last edited it and didn't have a clue as to how you took care of a 'problem'. this is where documentation comes in.

I systematically document everything in my code while writing it.
for:
- variables, properties and constants I usually add a @description, @date, @since, @type
- Functions, methods: @date, @description, @param[s], @return, @throws
- Classes: @date, @[class]desc,

I do most of my php coding in eclipse and if you add documentation to your methods, properties, classes, whatever, ... it will show this when you are using them.

then there is PHPDOC which can be used to generate html files with your documentation. I don't really use it because I can see the documentation in my IDE.

for small projects this is serious overkill but bad habits are hard to get rid of so I try to stick to my 'coding convention'.
as a matter of fact, for bigger projects documenting your code is a must!