FRIHOST FORUMS SEARCH FAQ TOS BLOGS COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

Microwave in our life. It's very bad for us health?

gediminas
SonLight
There is no evidence of harm from small amounts of microwave radiation; in fact it appears safe as long as the level is not high enough to start cooking your flesh. Since this is posted in a science forum, perhaps you have some ideas about what kind of harm there might be?

I'm a little skeptical of claims that various kinds of radio waves, high-voltage electric lines, etc. are completely safe, but to investigate you need to have a starting point based on experience or prior research. We do know that nuclear radiation proved very hazardous, after a number of early researchers and other people exposed died unexpectedly, thinking the dosage they got was not harmful.
Peterssidan
I'm no expert but isn't the frequency important when talking about waves and radiation? X-Rays are not healthy and they have a very high frequency. Microwaves has a much lower frequency, even lower than visible light.
Bikerman
Yes frequency is important. Basically if the electromagnetic wave has enough energy to knock electrons out of their orbits then we call it ionising radiation and that can be trouble (if it, for example, knocks electrons out of orbit in your DNA then you have one mechanism for cancer).
Microwave radiation does NOT have sufficient energy to ionise and is therefore not a radiation hazard in that sense. The worst it is likely to do is cause burns.
Peterssidan
Ok that's reassuring to hear. When using a microwave oven (which is the only place I know microwaves are commonly used) it's not really possible to get burned because it automatically turns off when the door opens. Using a normal oven is much more dangerous.
jamesparker
I also heard on a television show that it is not good for health as it ends the nutrition from the food.
Peterssidan
jamesparker wrote: