FRIHOST FORUMS SEARCH FAQ TOS BLOGS COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

Can any designer here recommend ways to learn?

ratanegra
I wish to learn how to design websites professionally, but I don't know where to start and what to read. I already know HTML and CSS, but I want to be able to judge the quality of my designs so that I can produce better stuff. If you can recommend any textbooks, websites or anything with that kind of information I would greatly appreciate it.
deanhills
Just lots of practice, doing as many Websites as you can and learning as you're doing. I'm not a professional designer myself, but have worked with someone who is excellent at designing Websites. I helped to moderate a Forum of his as well as change some templates from old HTML to HTML5. That gave me a real close-up in the world of templates and the designs I favoured. At the time I was using Notepad++ and Mozilla Firefox to do the translations. If you're very serious, I'm sure this guy will help you. I'll PM you his details.
amagard
A great way to learn how you are doing with web page design is to ask your users about it. Thus make sure you provide some "Feedback" function so that users can send you feedback how they like your pages and what they dislike.

Google just offered some training "Make your website more accessible to more users with Introduction to Web Accessibility".
tcarnevale
I'm going to respond to your query in stages:

If you already feel real comfortable with designing using HTML and CSS, I'd look into one of the free CMSs. Wordpress is the most popular, Joomla! is my favorite. Both are free, with plenty of documentation on the web at their respective sites, and other places. Try a Google search on Wordpress tutorials or Joomla! tutorials.

If you feel you need to see some applications of HTML and CSS in designing websites, here are some good websites on the topic:
1. [url]//www.wikihow.com/Design-a-Website [/url]