You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

Breaking Into The Web-development Industry

Okay, so let's keep this brief.

I am in my final year of Marine Engineering studies (under-grad), and I have no desire to join a sea-going vessel at the end of the year. What I want to do is work as a web-developer, mainly back-end work, but some front-end as well.

At the end of this year I'll have an under-grad degree in Marine Engineering. I'm teach myself web-dev (I have no time for formal classes, anywhere). I started with basic HTML/CSS/Javascript, then some Rails, and now XSLT, after which I'll take up Symphony.

So yeah, a degree in Marine Engineering (whatever that's worth) and knowledge of web-development as well as a few portfolio websites (I'm thinking a blog, an e-commerce site, and forums).

What else do I need? I am open to all sorts of advice. I'm 21, living in India, at the moment, passionate about computer and technology, open to all things in life.
I'd say you want to first get a good portfolio established. You can even offer to do some small work for free for local charities, nonprofits, friends, whatever. Anything you can use to showcase your skills later on in life. The thing that most people look for when they hire these developers is what they have done in the past. Degrees don't mean as much as things that they have done. As long as you have the chops and the experience and the gallery and portfolio to show for it, you should be fine. And by having another degree in marine engineering, this gives you another option in case web development doesn't go your way. I'm sure there's more to that field than sitting on a seagoing vessel (although I'm not sure why you would want to major in that if you didn't want to do that).

Good luck!