FRIHOST FORUMS SEARCH FAQ TOS BLOGS COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

finally a full time job then not

standready
I am a mechanical engineer and have been freelance for the past 13 years. freelance has it good points and bad (not having work to do or not getting paid for work done). So a little over a year ago, I decided to start looking for a full time position. Most were 70+ miles away which means a lot of time on the road not to mention wear and tear on car and me.
So last week I got a call about a local place looking for a 'Machine Design Engineer'. Interviewed last Thursday and got confirmation today and start tomorrow. Good pay rate and benefits (What is 'vacation'? laugh) plus short (2 mile) commute.
Time to reset the alarm clock!
mathiaus
Congratulations Very Happy
A year is a long time of looking! Then again, goes to show you have to be in the market in the first place, and the longer the better. Hope it goes well tomorrow and you settle in quickly.
johans
congratulations!

That is very interesting and inspiring to hear!
abhinavm24
congos
Cool

n reset alarm clock!!
Smile
watersoul
Excellent news standready, well done!
Hope you find a nice group of people working there as well, makes all the difference I think.
...and short commute, even better, that extra hour in bed, oh yeah! Smile
Ankhanu
Wicked! I hope to follow suit soon; the security of a good job is a wonderful thing.
standready
Thanks everyone.

watersoul wrote:
Hope you find a nice group of people working there as well, makes all the difference I think.

Everyone in the place seems very nice and goal oriented. They lost their previous engineer 2 months ago and have been working from rough hand sketches by the old timers since. A lot of catching up on drawings to do plus cleaning up the entire CAD system to make it user friendly for everyone. Heck, I can't even find some drawings that are in the system because the way the last person generated them.