FRIHOST FORUMS SEARCH FAQ TOS BLOGS COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

need help

abhinavm24
i want an easy to use,simple and efficient free to use OS.
Linux preferred but should be easy to manage and user-friendly.
Ubuntu or puppy linux someone please sort out.
I'm new to linux and want to learn more if you know about some good resources please link me.
Very Happy
Arrogant
If you want to run a linux OS, you could download Ubuntu 13.04.
Here's the link
http://www.ubuntu.com/download/desktop
dustindallas
Might I also suggest Linux Mint it seems to be a good beginner to Linux OS with a pretty straightforward install that you can even start in Windows. You can also give it a test run without deleting your Windows OS partition

You might check out your options at http://distrowatch.com/
zimmer
abhinavm24 wrote:
i want an easy to use,simple and efficient free to use OS.
Linux preferred but should be easy to manage and user-friendly.
Ubuntu or puppy linux someone please sort out.
I'm new to linux and want to learn more if you know about some good resources please link me.
Very Happy

Linux is totally different from Microsoft.

In my experience, I am a Microsoft server user but when i transferred to linux my knowledge is back to zero.
dustindallas
Thats the case. but changing as an experienced Windows user makes it easier to pick up the new OS, then if you were to jump in without any knowledge.
Cruxader
Linux Mint would be your best bet if your hardware is fairly modern. It works really well right out of the box.
amagard
I would also recommend Linux Mint. I have it running on a 8 year old thinkpad and it is running very well. Easy to install and easy to use.