FRIHOSTFORUMSSEARCHFAQTOSBLOGSCOMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

Anti Aliasing, What is it?

friscofrankie
I've got an image for my title Thatsmeone mentioned I had no anit aliasing applied to the fonts in it. What is he talkng about and how to apply this technology. being a back end engineer I have bee able to doge learning a lot of advanced graphics stuff. until now that is. Any recources on the net I can check out?
S3nd K3ys
Quote:
Anti Aliasing, What is it?

The process of removing or reducing the jagged distortions in curves and diagonal lines so that the lines appear smooth or smoother.

Search google for how to work with it on your application.
ml
here are some good examples:

david150
Good explanation, thanx!
Tom7
nice explanation, i didn't know what it mean't either.
m_furquan36
Hey really helpful thnkx!! Laughing even though i knew it as something else!!!
Rafe
Just to clarify, it is a graphics term which applies to text generally but can be for any vector graphics. It basically slightly shifts pixels so that they are slightly blurry, sharp, etc. Photoshop provides a good way to create this effect. Smile
friscofrankie
Great Explainations. Thanks. Seems I asked the question and went on to try and find an answer elsewhere. So now I understand what it is how do I apply it?
Thing is I'm Using The Gimp and I am finding it difficult to apply anti aliasing to sme fo my graphics. Using the magic wand tool I can select the text in a graphic and there is this check box fo anitaliasing But I see no apply button or an thng that tells me the edges ahve been "anitaliased" When I load the file in my page They really don;t appear much different.
So the real question is... How do I apply this technology to my files?
Rafe
friscofrankie wrote:
Great Explainations. Thanks. Seems I asked the question and went on to try and find an answer elsewhere. So now I understand what it is how do I apply it?