FRIHOST FORUMS SEARCH FAQ TOS BLOGS COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

Mathematical education in your country

davorin
Hi everybody.
I am new here and I apologize for my English. I have tu practice more.

My question is, what level i mathematical education in yours countries?
Are you thinking that you need more math techer in school or there is enough of them.

What is the degreee of your knowledge of mathematics.

I have master degree in math, and I am just wondering do you need someone like me in your county.
For the record, I am from Croatia, soon a new country in EU.

Thanks
Bikerman
I have undergrad maths which is mostly self-taught since college. I'm not a natural mathematician but I do enjoy playing with maths and I decided some years ago to improve my maths in order to be able to participate in physics and other science debates and discussions. I got Roger Penroses 'Road to Reality' and started to work through it. I still haven't finished it, but it got me beyond my previous level of elementary calculus and I now at least know what a tensor is Smile
Most people (I speak as a teacher/lecturer) are woeful in maths - many people are actually quite phobic and begin to turn-off if you even mention something to do with even elementary maths.
I am currently doing some contract teaching in a secondary school (England) - pretty rough school it has to be said - and even top-set year 11 pupils (15-16yrs old) are very poor in most cases and, worse, completely disinterested.
davorin
If you want to lern, on easy way, tray on this site:

https://www.khanacademy.org/
It help me a lot.
You can start from begining and go on to the college degre.
It is realy great how is done.

My field is statistics and theory of probability.
You can learn that on khan academy.
And have test there.

try it and let me know your thoughts on this site.
Bikerman