FRIHOSTFORUMSSEARCHFAQTOSBLOGSCOMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

Romeo and Juliet

twotrophy
Have anyone read the original text of Romeo and Juliet? I am currently studying it in school. Reading the original text in Middle English is more interesting than the modern translation. One very important thing to take note of is that it is not a book, but a play. It is the best fiction work that I have read so far even though I only read a small part of it. It can also be read online at many websites. One difficulty you might encounter is that reading it may be difficult because the English language have changed from time to time. It is not common that written works survive centuries later so I suggest that we appreciate this. It seems that during his lifetime, he was never appreciated or famous until the 17th century.
From: en.wikipedia.org/wiki/William_Shakespeare's_reputation#section_3
Quote:
In his own time, William Shakespeare (1564–1616) was seen as merely one among many talented playwrights and poets, but ever since the late 17th century he has been considered the supreme playwright,
capricornis
I am not sure if the English of Shakespeare is particularly difficult for today's reader. It is not like Chaucer's which is only remotely recognizable. If you don't mind a few knoweths and doeths and thees and thous, then Romeo and Juliet should be just fine read.

It is a great play, great story, wonderful characters, interesting plot and action, though the ending is a bit too depressing, but all in the fashion of the times in which it was created.

I am not sure why would W.S. be treated the same as all the other playwrights in his time, when today none of the others is even mentioned. How fleeting a thing fame is when most of the greatest artists have received their proper praise only centuries after their deaths and thus being unable to enjoy any of the fruits of their art and work.
twotrophy
capricornis wrote: