FRIHOSTFORUMSSEARCHFAQTOSBLOGSCOMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

Questions about English words

SonLight
Some questions about English usage came up in a thread http://www.frihost.com/forums/vt-144435.html. I decided to discuss them here. I am not an expert in English grammar, and my dialect may differ from yours. Feel free to chime in if you disagree with a detail or if you still have questions.

Quote:
What is a little faith?
Where is the big faith?

The expression, "to have little faith", means does not believe in, or does not have much confidence in. There is a distinction between "little faith" and "a little faith". "little faith" is a negative condition. Faith may be entirely absent, but there may be some faith. The lack of the article, a or the, suggests a vagueness. To have "a little faith" means some belief is present, but is limited. "big faith" would seldom (probably never) be used. Instead, to have a great deal of confidence in something is to have "a lot of faith".

Quote:
What is strong believe?
What is weak believe?

To strongly believe something means you have a great deal of confidence in it. To rewrite it as a thing rather than an action, it should be rewritten as "a strong belief". Example, I strongly believe in human rights, or I believe strongly in human rights (sounds better in this context), or I have a strong belief in human rights. The first two use believe as a verb; the last uses belief as a noun. A weak belief would mean only a little bit of confidence. This would seldom be used. I think "his belief is weak" would be more likely, but only if the level of his belief was being discussed.