FRIHOSTFORUMSSEARCHFAQTOSBLOGSCOMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

How do you make a multi-page website?

ratanegra
I'm sure there are easier ways to do this, so I find it quite frustrating to have to copy and paste the design in every .html document and link one to another. If I want to do a minor change, I have to change manually every one of them. How do you put your design in one place, including the menu (that will be the same for every one of the 6 or 7 subpages), the logo, the footer, etc., and the content on another one?

The way I did it was with PHP includes, but I'm not very good with that and perhaps there is another way that I'm missing.
darthrevan
I do not know of another way except using php . I personally would create a page template and use php to include it. There days I use CMS to manage my site(s).
ratanegra
darthrevan wrote:
I do not know of another way except using php . I personally would create a page template and use php to include it. There days I use CMS to manage my site(s).

How would you include it? My way had a lot of includes (one for each part) and there were even some pages where I included a page with two or three includes in it (just so I had the menu, the logo, the footer and all other parts in different files to edit). It all became difficult after a while.
darthrevan
If you look at how to create templates for Wordpress, you will see you split up the HTML code into seperate files, like header.php, sidebar.php, footer.php and you could for your site, create a page-layout.php

The header.php would contain from <html> to the very beginning of the content tag(<div id='main'> or similar)

so your index would look like maybe:

Code:

<?php include('header.php');?>

<?php include('sidebar.php);?>

*Your content for your home page here*

<?php include('footer.php');?>

footer.php would contain the html code the footer.

in your sidebar.php put in the code for the theme's sidebar