You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

is PLUTO a planet?

hi everyone; I have heard that Pluto is not a planet? anyone heard this? before when i was a student my teacher include Pluto as the last planet but now when i heard it form my son he did not include Pluto in the list of the planet and i said why there no Pluto here? and He said He dont know the Pluto and It was not on the list of his book..

Any new discovery now in Planet Pluto?
Yeah there was some definition war a few years ago or something.

This may interest you:
You could refer to this article.

In short, the mass measured later is smaller, and it is too light to be a planet.
wow! thank you for the information history changes.. nah.. i am getting old.
Pluto is a Dwarf Planet.
Very similar to a planet, but, generally small, and has not cleared its orbital path of debris.
Ankhanu is correct in Pluto being a dwarf planet. Scientists consider Pluto to be the smallest of all the planets, unless any new smaller ones have been discovered lately?
No, Pluto is NOT a planet and there are thousands of bodies smaller than Pluto.
drunkenkoz wrote:
Ankhanu is correct in Pluto being a dwarf planet. Scientists consider Pluto to be the smallest of all the planets, unless any new smaller ones have been discovered lately?

Bikerman wrote:
No, Pluto is NOT a planet and there are thousands of bodies smaller than Pluto.

Quite right. Pluto is NOT a planet, which means it cannot be the smallest planet. It is, as I said, a Dwarf Planet, a separate category of celestial body, and is one of many... and is not the smallest of Dwarf Planets neither.
Since they found other planets besides Pluto and some of the findings were even bigger than Pluto. So instead of adding new planets, they removed Pluto from the list of planets and added it and the others that they found to the list of dwarf planet.
Pluto is not a planet