FRIHOST FORUMS SEARCH FAQ TOS BLOGS COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

easyphp help 4 total noob - take 1 second of your time plz

kx137
I am trying to install gallery2 on my new frihost space. I downloaded easyphp figuring this is my only hope of getting php and mysql on successfully. I installed it onto my computer but am clueless if or what to ftp to my site Question

Is easy php only for windows? Is there a retards guide for setting up the basic functions such as mysql, php, etc. Once I get this part setup I can work my way through the rest but I fear this is just to basic to even be mentioned in the forums; hence why I am so confused. I have been reading these forums for days and am so lost.

I am looking to have a blog/wordpress and gallery with many users w/ access to post pics and text. I setup the blog successfully on my brothers webspace but the gallery requires mysql and php. I have tapped into all of my locally available resources with no success.

Thank you for any help or advice how so ever so small or insignificant. Seriously when I say noob, think of teaching your father how to use email for the first time, Brian.
SoftStag
MySQL and PHP are already installed on Frihost's servers. You just need to upload the Gallery2 files to the server and follow it's installation instructions. You will also need to create the MySQL database using DirectAdmin (assuming you are on server 2).

Let us know what you think of Gallery2 when you get it up and running.
kx137
I am about to call this quits and pay someone. I have all but read every forum, link faq, and etc without any results. I created the MySQL database using DirectAdmin with no problem.

"Begin Installing - Open up your web browser and browse to the install directory. Gallery 2 will walk you through the process of validating that your system is properly configured and will set everything up for you"