FRIHOST FORUMS SEARCH FAQ TOS BLOGS COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

No water coming out of my tap

medesignz
Hello,

A couple of days ago the cold water tap on my bath got quite stiff so I used a towel and was able to loosen it.

Now it turns (still a little stiffly) but no water comes out at all.

There is cold water linked up as water comes from the cold tap in the sink.

Anyone got any ideas?
Bondings
I suppose the thing that turns and closes the water flow got stuck for some reason (maybe calcium) and by forcing it you broke the connection between it and the tap. I suppose you need to change the whole tap. But then again I have very little experience with these kind of things.
medesignz
Bondings wrote:
I suppose the thing that turns and closes the water flow got stuck for some reason (maybe calcium) and by forcing it you broke the connection between it and the tap. I suppose you need to change the whole tap. But then again I have very little experience with these kind of things.

Oh goodness me... I'll have to start looking up some "how to"s on YouTube I guess...

How about a DIY section on the forum Wink
deanhills
I'd just call a plumber. Sort of the easiest to do. Very Happy
Bondings
deanhills wrote:

That depends on where you live and who you know. A plumber can be very hard to get (and expensive) and most won't come unless it's for big jobs.

@medesignz, a DIY section is a good idea, but we have already too many forums here. Maybe in the hobbies forum?
medesignz
@Bondings Yeah, I was thinking of the hobbies forum

@DeanHills Luckily a friend of the family is a plumber... I may get him to come over and have a crack at it... Looks like I'm buying the beer and pizza
deanhills
Bondings wrote:
deanhills wrote:

That depends on where you live and who you know. A plumber can be very hard to get (and expensive) and most won't come unless it's for big jobs.