FRIHOST FORUMS SEARCH FAQ TOS BLOGS COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

Anyone build electric guitars?

thesmithy
I just got into building electrics and was wondering if anyone had any advice on the subject. Or share stories of some beauties you've made over the years. My favorite thing to do is sand off an entire finish to expose the grain of the wood, then stain and finish in a satin gloss. I try so darn hard to get a full gloss but can never do it...
ayour
never tried but it would be nice to try it .
Ankhanu
I have a lot of interest in guitar building, but I haven't got the tools to do it... one day, however. I've read a book or two on the subject, and it seems like something I can do with some effort Wink I have a few design ideas that I want to build... all in good time, I suppose!
thesmithy
I'm just starting out right now and what I'm doing is getting precut bodies in Strat or Tele shapes, and borrowing my dad's router for adding differnt pickup options. I've learned a lot about finishing and it's my favorite part watching it build up and take shape. It might be a good way to start out, I'm selling my work and hope to save up to get a jigsaw so I can cut my own bodies and get serious.
fuzzkaizer
i started building a guitar 4 years ago, which is about the age of my little daughter, so the project is on ice now... so maybe one day i'll finish the piece. it was about a little electric guitar, transportable, lightweight, simple, old school and post war era style, so it's also a little campy.

maybe you'd be interested in the guitarz-blog, there is also a huge category of handmade guitars http://guitarz.blogspot.co.at/search/label/handmade?updated-max=2010-11-01T04:10:00Z&max-results=20&start=40&by-date=false
of course there you can find lots of weird productions, but that's quite entertaining, at least for my part...