FRIHOST FORUMS SEARCH FAQ TOS BLOGS COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

Music Recording/Artist Tips

scwebgfx
I've been recording music for 20 years and my biggest tip for the producer is to record low and mix high
my productions always sound great and radio ready.

Tip: for an artist dont be quick to sign you can do alot by your self and with friends and family.
network and post your music everywhere Facebook,twitter, reverberation, YouTube,sound click,sound cloud etc....
Josso
Not sure I understand your record low, mix high thing. Surely... record high just below clipping for best quality and then mix low + compress? Maybe I am missing the point here.
Ankhanu
Josso wrote:
Not sure I understand your record low, mix high thing. Surely... record high just below clipping for best quality and then mix low + compress? Maybe I am missing the point here.

Aye, I've always heard record high and attenuate to bring things down in the mix to the proper level. If you boost a low signal to a higher volume you're going to introduce hiss/noise or other artifacts into the final mix... which is a common issue with compression as well (any process that boosts signal will do this).

As for artists and signing, I certainly agree... in terms of recording/production. However, in terms of distribution, physical and digital, there are some advantages to having someone big/experienced behind you. Posting to various social media outlets can only get you so far in distributing your material and reaching your intended audience... but there are good independent labels that can get you where you need to be, you don't need to seek out the big companies.
Josso
Heh ok - this guy up here knows what's going down Laughing