FRIHOST FORUMS SEARCH FAQ TOS BLOGS COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

Macro photography...

wellerchap
...don't laugh at my shots - I'm pretty new to it!
I bought a 30mm macro lens for my Sony a300 DSLR recently - I managed to get about 2cm from this little guys nose to focus on and take the shots - my best insect photos so far - and all in the windown of my own kitchen!

deanhills
Amazing shots wellerchap. How did you get them to stand still like that?

Are you going to focus on insects only or on flowers too?
Josso
Cool stuff. How much do you reckon a macro lens for my ancient 35mm camera would be
Ghost Rider103
deanhills wrote:
Amazing shots wellerchap. How did you get them to stand still like that?

Are you going to focus on insects only or on flowers too?

Looks like he let them land on sticky paper. Very Happy

Anyways, they are excellent shots. I don't know much about photography, especially macro photography. It I do know a bit about digital design, and from that perspective these shots are impressive. I am loving the shadow in the second shot.
dude_xyx
oh I do love macro photography too. First photo is bit out of focus I think but second photo is good and sharp. It's hard to do marco photos without a tripod.

You can see couple of ant photos in my Flickr

http://www.flickr.com/photos/dudexyx/with/4389574614/
Ankhanu
I love macro photography Smile Unfortunately, I don't own a macro lens, and have to reverse my 50mm to get close... it's a little unweildly and not very flexible, but it's better than nothing!

Here's one I took earlier in the spring:
wellerchap
That's a great shot - sort of looks like the dead one's breakdancing Very Happy
I use a 30mm lens, which was about 130 pounds in the UK.....then I learn all the better shots seem to be taken with lenses of approximately 100mm so you get much more magnification....but those lenses cost 5-600 pounds!! Shocked