FRIHOST FORUMS SEARCH FAQ TOS BLOGS COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

dslr bad picture quality?

lightwate
We have Nikon D3000 - an affordable dslr. I seem to notice that most of the shots we have are dull and doesn't look like it's taken from a DSLR - it doesn't have that "wow" effect that I get when I see other people's shots. But I'm not sure if what I see in the web are edited or not.

I'm an amateur and I usually take shots of my family and the landscapes whenever we're in vacation. But every time I use the 'Auto' or 'P' setting the picture seems dull. I always have to tinker with the settings using manual, but this is hard when the sun reflects on the lcd and also when my subjects are losing patience.

But whenever I use my android phone to take the picture, most of the time it looks better. The colors are more vivid. And this makes me wonder if point and shoot cameras have a great advantage. I mean, sure the shots taken by DSLRs are much clearer than those of point and shoot cameras, but the latter is almost always better looking because of all the post processing the image goes through.

But I still don't know if it's because of the camera model we have :\
Ankhanu
The advantage of DSLRs is shooting in manual. They don't necessarily perform any better in Auto mode than anything else. The "Wow" factor you're after comes from either carefully selecting your ISO/Aperture/Shutter/WhiteBalace combination, post production, or a combination of the two. Auto rarely gives you what you want, and, honestly, if you're using it in Auto all the time, you've wasted a lot of money; you'd have been just as well off with a point n shoot.

Basically, you need to practice; get accustomed to your camera's control layout and practice, practice, practice, under all kinds of light conditions. In time you'll be able to change settings to the conditions in no time, and your subjects won't have to wait.